Introducing Darwin, the Faerie


Aren't I cute

Name: Darwin

Age: 20

Gender Identity: Faerie

Sexual Orientation: Pansexual

Hometown: Portland, Oregon

Likes: People, Chocolate Chip Cookies, Myself, Pink

Dislikes: Grits, Busses being late, The way peanut butter gets stuck in your teeth, bigotry.

Hello folks! My name is Darwin. I am a femme identified gender queer currently residing in Portland, OR. I use Faerie pronouns which are fae or faerie instead of he or she. To use that in a sentence (although my friends have tried to dissect the grammar of my pronoun usage way more than I have), “Darwin went to the store and fae bought some rice milk.” And then I used the rice milk to make delicious chocolate chip cookies for all of you!

Anyhow, I am going to be a regular contributor to our fantastic blog here. The reason I wanted to write for Chatpdx and Chatmosphere is because I am a self-identified youth who cares about youth issues, in other words the issues I encounter as a queer youth everyday navigating our society and my communities. I am particularly interested in writing about how important I feel it is to be an ally to my peers and to have them be an ally to me. I feel that learning to be an ally to yourself and others is a fundamental component of helping create safe spaces and safe people for youth to share their experiences in and with. Sharing our experiences is part of growing and learning as individuals and communities. I hope that you will all ponder with me, think about, and discuss what being an ally to yourself and others means to you and looks like within your communities.

I also will be writing a lot about gender identity and journey. My gender has played an instrumental role in shaping how I view the world and it’s been instrumental in shaping my interpersonal experiences. Some days my gender is too complicated to think about. Some days it’s as simple as what shoes I want to wear. I feel that with gender, as with all identities, we have socially acceptable constructs of what that looks like forced upon us from birth. I feel that no matter who you are or how you identify, gender can affect you. Again I would encourage you all to think with me about how gender impacts your life and the way you view things, how you interact with people and so on.

So gender and ally-ship are two issues I am currently thinking a lot about and will probably be writing a lot about. There are other identities that factor into my life as well that I may share with you all. As a youth, which for me means as someone in constant change, transition, and growth, I am constantly thinking about my identities and my perceived identities, my oppressions and my perceived oppressions, my privileges and my perceived privileges. I hope you all will venture with me over the course of my writings in considering how all of the above mentioned things are in play within your own lives and how they shape your views of the world. You are all amazing incredible people, faeries, etc. Stay safe and take care of yourselves! Happy Faerie Magick!

-Darwin

One thought on “Introducing Darwin, the Faerie

  1. What does it mean to identify your gender as faerie? I identify as agender but consider myself to be not human, but faerie. I was wondering if it was something similar.

Leave a Reply

